next up previous contents index
Next: Outline of the structure Up: VASP an introduction Previous: VASP an introduction   Contents   Index

N.B. This document is no longer maintained, please visit our wiki. N.B. This document is no longer maintained, please visit our wiki.

History of VASP

A brief history of the development of VASP:

In addition, the following people have contributed to the code: The tetrahedron integration method was copied from a LMTO-program (original author unknown, but it might be Jepsen or Blöchl). The communication kernels were initially developed by Peter Lockey at Daresbury (CETEP), but they have been subsequently modified completely. The kernel for the parallel FFT was initially written by D. White and M. Payne, but it has been rewritten from scratch around July 1998. Several parts of VASP were co-developed by A. Eichler, and other members of the group in Vienna. David Hobbs worked on the non collinear version. Martijn Marsman has written the routines for calculating the polarisation using the Berry phase approach, spin spirals and Wannier functions. He also rewrote the LDA+U routines initially written by O. Bengone, and extended the spin-orbit coupling to $ f$ electrons. Robin Hirschl implemented the Meta-GGA, and is currently working on the Hartree-Fock support (together with Martijn Marsman and Adrian Rohrbach).

N.B. Requests for support are to be addressed to: